Daniel's Beard Logo

Daniel's Beard have given the first performance of a number of new works. These include:


David Thomas Duncan: Quintet

Michael Shearer: Quintet

Chris Hutchings: Actaeon and Diana

John Stringer: Tenebrae

Edward McGuire: Horn Trio

Christopher Rathbone: Daniel's Razor; Horn Quintet

Lenny Sayers: The Lady of Shalott; The Owl and the Pussycat; Jabberwocky

Moritz Eggert: P is for Riot


and the Scottish première of works including:


Ralph Vaughan Williams: Quintet in D

Volker David Kirchner: Il Canto della Notte

Krzysztof Penderecki: Sextet


The players that make up Daniel's Beard are familiar faces to any regular concert-goer in Scotland. Click on the left to find out more about each of us.


Alastair Savage and Elita Poulter: violin

Sophie Lang and Andy Berridge: viola

Tom Rathbone and Sonia Cromarty: cello

Jean Johnson: clarinet

Andy Saunders: horn

Lynda Cochrane: piano


Sam Hutchings died tragically in June 2012. He was a key member of Daniel's Beard and is sorely missed.


We also have a number of guest players who join us regularly as repertoire requires.


Why Daniel's Beard?

Daniel Cottier was a pioneering interior designer who was responsible for the stunning decoration inside Cottier's Theatre, which was previously Dowanhill Parish Church. Above the bar hangs a portrait of a Brahms-like Cottier...and so the group's name was decided!